Free Shipping for order above $99.

Sku: BB139

The Beanies Hi-Lo Diversity Decodables Phase 5

Regular Price
Sale Price
Regular Price
Sold Out
Unit Price
Only 80 left!

Written especially for older and struggling readers - The Beanies. The Beanies are Hi-Lo - age-appropriate, high-interest stories with an exciting array of adventures, centred around a cast of diverse, relatable, and teenage characters that reflect the modern world that we live in.

Phase 5 (Vowel Sounds) set has been written specifically for the progression of Letters & Sounds. Phase 5 (Vowel Sounds) introduces a further 20 letter patterns, mainly focusing on alternative vowel sounds. Phase 5 readers will follow students week-by-week through the programme providing them with text-based context to practice their emerging reading skills. Every story has been written with a strictly controlled text so that students are only exposed to those letter sounds that they have previously learnt. Furthermore, tricky words are only included after they have been introduced. Build confidence in older, struggling readers as they master the phonics code. Can also be used alongside other popular schemes as book-banded reading levels are provided.

The set includes 12 fiction readers, each with colourful illustrations.

Year 2
Age 5+
Book Band Fluency 1 (Orange)
Guided Reading Level H - I
Reading Level 15 - 16

Book #

Book Title

Letter Sounds


The River May Stray

ay   ou   ie   ea


The Royal Boy

oy   ir   ue aw


The Phantom Dolphin

wh   ph


Sam's New Quest

ew oe   au   ey


The Fossil Bone

a-e   e-e   i-e   o-e   u-e


An Unusual Parrot



The Magic Flute

Revision of all Phase 5 sounds (and alternative pronunciations of g and ‘y’)


The Pink Flamingo

Revision of all Phase 5 sounds


A Pit of Snakes

Revision of all Phase 5 sounds


The Curse of Crystal Cove

Revision of all Phase 5 sounds


Race Across the Desert

Revision of all Phase 5 sounds


The Waterfall

Revision of all Phase 5 sounds

Decodable Resources